Tuesday Tastings – I Got a Pickle, Hey, Hey!

Someone once told my daddy that they didn’t allow their kids to go in the fridge after school. They had snacks in the pantry they could eat. My daddy looked right back at them and laughed.

“You couldn’t keep Tasha out of the fridge when she was little,” he said. “The only snack that youngin’ wanted was the sourest damn pickle she could find.”

That holds true to this day. My favorite pickles are the Mt. Olive garlic dills. Seriously, I can eat the shit out of them!

Unfortunately, most restaurants don’t have pickles on the side, unless they’re a sub shop or burger place. (Sandwiches are a tasting for another day though).  However, in the last few years, restaurants have added a very yummy appetizer to their menu that I will always get if listed.

Fried Pickles

Seriously, I’m a Southern Girl. I eat odd ball things. I will try anything once. I can’t say I don’t like it if I never had it. If you’ve never had a deep fried pickle, I suggest trying them. Specifically at Buffalo Wild Wings if you have them. Dip it in a little zesty ranch and good to go.  It makes me happy and gives me my pickle fix.

I prefer the chips to the spears when it comes to this appetizer, but eh either way a deep fried pickles =

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Tastings – I Got a Pickle, Hey, Hey!

  1. mmgage says:

    I LOVE fried pickles. The best I’ve ever had are at a restaurant here in town called Amazing Joe’s. They add dill to the breading and it makes the pickles even yummier! I make pretty good ones at home too though mine are spicier (cayenne pepper is in my breading mix).

      • mmgage says:

        We’ve found that hamburger slices (with the groves) hold on to the batter best. I mix up my own batter mix, with bread-crumbs or flour (depending on what’s handy) and spices. I use an egg wash to help get stuff to stick. My husband says mine are the best but he’s a bit biased. 🙂

Step Into The Danger Zone