Natasha Raulerson

Tuesday Tastings – Airplane Food

This morning, before this blog is even posted, I’ll be boarding a plane and heading for Texas. I’m not the greatest of fliers. I don’t throw up or anything, but I tend to grip the arm rests, mutter under my breath at every bit of turbulence, and count the seconds until we land. I have control issues. I never claimed to have any sort of sanity, so don’t look so shocked.

 

This will be first time flying First Class. Now, I’ve never traveled on a plane for more than two hours. No extensive trips outside the US or to the other side of the country. The truth is I’d rather take a cruise or drive. Seriously, I’m like Dean Winchester. There’s a reason I drive everywhere. If I had a spare car, and tons of money for gas, and I wasn’t using miles for the flight, thus making it free, I probably would have driven. I’d make it a road trip, stop and see the sights, talk with the locals, and hopefully not get lost on Route 66 and eaten by some hybrid cryptozoological animal.

I’m getting off track.

The point IS, I’ve never actually had airplane food, other than packages of peanuts, which I’m under the impression they don’t serve anymore. I know they serve alcohol, however every time I ever WANTED alcohol to settle my nerves, they were out of everything I drank.

So inconsiderate!

But, since I’m going to be in first class, I have to wonder–will I get food? What kind of food? Will it taste good? Will it just be snacks? Do I only get a soda? Do I have to pay for any liquor I get–HEY IT’S FIVE O’CLOCK SOMEWHERE and I hate planes.

Regardless, the above questions had me wondering about people who HAVE actually been on a plane and eaten their cuisine. Is it good, bad, indifferent?

If they serve food, I’m going to eat it–and hopefully not throw up.

An odd Tuesday Tasting, but hey, they can’t all be winners!

 

Step Into The Danger Zone